top of page
Search

Life Update: Haley

Hello everyone! Long time no see! The past year has been absolutely crazy to say the least! I wanted to give you all an update! I am proud to say that I graduated cum laude from Colorado State University in May 2020. I am the newest freshman English teacher at Summit High School in Breckenridge, Colorado. I have grown so much as an educator having my own classroom. After evaluating my practice, my philosophy has done a complete 180 since student teaching.


Much my of my new philosophy revolves around the idea of equity, justice, and humanity. I moved to Summit County thinking that I would be teaching predominantly rich white kids. I have come to realize that Summit County actually has the second fasted growing hispanic population in the state and that there is a major economic disparity between the ultra-rich and the working class in this area. This has lead me to modify my pedagogy so that each and every one of my students feels that they have a voice in my classroom. I am serving as one of the faculty advisors for the Student Equity Alliance, a club for the LGBTQ+ youth in our school. I also serve on two different equity policy committees working toward a more equitable future for our school district so that every student can be successful.


I am incredibly happy and feel fulfilled in my life. I will continue to update the website as frequently as possible!


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Chloe

Simon

bottom of page